It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Human Anatomy & Physiology: Specialized LIbraries
Resources on anatomical history and modern-day learning.
De humani corporis fabrica | 1543 | Andreas Vesalius
This text represented a major step forward in the study of anatomy. While not without its errors, the text presents observations of anatomical features based on human dissection. The highly detailed woodcut illustrations enabled this text to be shared far and wide, as evidenced by the over 700 copies that survive today. Read more about the significance of this text.
The unique holdings of the library include over 400 incunabula (books printed before 1501), an extensive collection of manuscripts and archives, historical medical photographs, and a collection of 19th-century medical journals.
Explore SurgiCat, the online catalog of the museum and archive collections at the Royal College of Surgeons of England. SurgiCat contains over 50,000 items, many of which pertain to pathology, anatomy, and surgical practices of the past.
"Opening access to seven centuries of medical history", the MHL has a full-text search tool and a comprehensive digitized collection. It pulls from digitized collections of many significant libraries, including libraries at Harvard, Yale, and the College of Physicians of Philadelphia.
Located in London, The Wellcome Library has an extensive collection relating to anatomy and medical history. In recent years they have undertaken major projects to digitize their collections, and many of their images are made freely available.
Take a look at their Subject Guide for Anatomy and Physiology.
View over 70,000 images from the 15th-21st century in the collection of the National Library of Medicine. Also take a look at Turning the Pages, which contains full-text scans of rare and unusual world texts pertaining to medical history.