Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Based on needs, there are a wide variety of databases that contain content related to anatomy, pathology, and medicine. Here are some resources for modern-day inquiries. Click on more... to view instructions on utilizing each database.
EMBASE is a leading medical database containing full-text biomedical research. Part of the database includes all items in Medline (bibliographic database of the National Library of Medicine) from 1966 to present.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCOhost]
Academic Search Complete pulls from over 8,000 academic journals to support "high-level research." While it is not specialized in the medical field, ASC pulls from a number of scientific and medical journals.
Cochrane Library [Wiley InterScience]
The Cochrane Library pulls from many databases to provide articles related to evidence-based medical research.
This database contains indexes and abstracts for educational resources published after 1966.
One of the leading medical databases in the country, PubMed provides access to over 30 million medical citations.
Getting started with historical research often means looking at archival databases and specialized libraries. Here, take a look at some tools to get you started. In the next tab, take a look at specialized medical libraries with strong archival collections.
Most academic journals require a subscription. Check with your library to see if you can get access! Be aware that many of the databases provided will pull from these sources as well. Even if you don't have a subscription, these journal websites can be still be helpful for identifying issues and professional development.